Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Replacing Headgasket

Stu8

Right Ok, so my headgasket has gone (not to happy) especially after paying a big lump sum for reconditioning the engine just a few months back :ffs:

So i'm going to have to have a go at fixing this one myself.

So far no one has been to sure if a UK gasket will be ok: so my plan is to get down to my old gasket take it off and take it to my local Car Parts shop and match it up to a UK spec one.

Not being a mechanic i now i'm going to struggle but I need to have a go at it. :blink:

Does anybody know how to remove the intake plenum?

..... and if so can I keep the Throttle body still attached to it?

15130ae5.jpg

Ok scrap that idea :rolleyes:

I've found it a hell of alot easier just to remove the throttle body

3203c0e0.jpg

just need to remove those wires; which seem to feel like there sealed on!

uk and jap gaskets are the same. i would recommend getting a steel gasket and a set of arp rod bolts. how ever i notice that you have a rev 3 mr2 so it should be a steel gasket as stock. my guess is that the reconditioner has skimpt and put a composite gasket in as i have never heard of a rev3 blowing a head gasket. get a genuine gasket as well as a motorfactors will prolly only sell you a cheap composite gasket

Hi.

Right, not sure if you have done a HG before? you say that you aint a mechanic, justa few tips / notes !

Once the head is off, you may aswell reseat the valves.

I have taken heads off with the intake and exhaust manifold still on (as it was almost impossible to put them back on once the head was back on - no room !!)

Make sure you tightent the head bolts up to the correct torque ! - dont over do it, and there is also a pattern you should follow to do them up.