Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Is This Price Ok For New Yaris?

jedimistress

£7,400 for a new 5 door Yaris, standard colour, 1.0l, with no options. So basic car. No extras thrown in like mats.

I am wondering if this is a good price to pay? I am getting £2,700 off list price due to scrappage but can't help wondering if the dealer could budge a little further, though has insisted he can't?

This is my first time buying a new car so would appreciate any pointers. Am not too enthused as my 20 year old toyota is stoll going really strong.

It seems like a fair price considering your current car is probably worth next to nothing, cheapest at a quick scoot of the net comes up with 8,865. As you allready enjoy running a 20 year old car why go new? I was driving a 14 year old car before getting the 1.0l phase one yaris i currently own and loved it because it was so reliable unlike others from the same manufacturer (rover). I went for Toyota for reliability and fuel consumption , which has been good averaging 45mpg mostly town work. The only downside for these town cars is they are not that good on motorways and struggle when fully loaded, after all 67-69bhp is not that good although better than the competition.

For me if i was minted and had 7k to spend on a car i would look at similar to what you have now second hand and get a good civic with less than 50k on the clock and it should see you well for 5 or 6 years, the scrappage allowance is good if you are dead set on the cheapest car but otherwise i dont have much faith in the way it has been implemented and the inflated prices dealers spout.