Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Power Loss, Newbie, No Fault Codes Or Errors

bashman40

Hi guys I’m a newbie on here just wanted to introduce myself and ask a question he behalf of a family member. I hope i enjoy my stay with this community.

I personally own a VW and a Skyline and don’t know much about Toyotas. I’m stuck with a problem on my sister in laws 2006 rav4 160 BHP. The car is suffering from lose of power seem to be very little turbo kick in or maybe none, so i have had it plugged in a local garage they use the snap on diagnostic equipment and funny enough there was no faults so the mechanic disconnected the MAP sensor on top of the air box (made the engine management light come up) and tryed it which didn’t make a difference so the MAP sensor was connected back up and all faults were erased using the diagnostic equipment. When driving away the car after this it was back to normal with all the normal power. I assumed it was just probably a bad connection but a day later the same problem occurred i have cleaned the connections to the sensor with electrical contact cleaner but this hasn’t made a difference.

Wanted to know of anyone else has had the same problem if so what was done to cure it? Also what tests can be performed to work out if the MAP sensor is faulty or not?

look forward to your replys thanks

Hi guys I’m a newbie on here just wanted to introduce myself and ask a question he behalf of a family member. I hope i enjoy my stay with this community.