Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Crossroads - What To Do

adam1982

Hi All,

Bit of a Toyota Owners Club newbie here, I've been reading the forums here for a while, but have only just signed up :)

I have a couple of questions that I am hoping you wonderful people may be able to help me with as i'm at a crossroad. I have a 1998 Hilux, 5spd manual 3ltr non turbo diesel dual cab pickup 4X4. It's running 31x10.5x15 tires that are a road tire (not muddies). I'm pretty sure the model number is LN167R. I'll put a couple of pictures of it below so you can see exactly what it is.

It is just about to tick over 270,000Kms sometime next week and it is in very good shape. There is nothing wrong with it, everything still works perfectly. I have owned it for about a year and been out "wheeling" just about every weekend since getting it. I got bogged more then my fair share of times when I first got it - massive learning curve for me as I had never owned or been 4x4'ing before. The majority of times I got stuck was due to open diffs front and rear, i'd loose traction on one wheel front and rear and it was game over.

Now for my questions, I love my hilux, it has heaps of "character" and its a good solid car, but there are a couple of things that are really starting to bug me and have me at a cross road. these couple of things are making me think seriously about trading it in for something else. I'm hoping that someone here may be able to post some suggestions about how to overcome these things so I can keep the Hilux

1. Highway cruising