Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Uneven Running Rav4

cashsteve

i have recently purchased an older Rav4 2.0GS (1994) for the wife and I have found that when it is cold the "choke" seems to staying on far too long e.g the heater is pumping out hot air and the temp gauge is almost to the middle. In addition when driving (after the "choke" has gone off) it seems to be purging ( like a missfire ) and it is using an enormous ammount of fuel. I have very little experience of fuel injection and ecu' s as I last worked on a car that had points etc. I appreciate it could be a number of things but if someone could point me in the general direction of where to look I dont mind getting my hands dirty. Thanks in advance for any help.

Welcome to the club Steve

Those 3FSE engines are prone to idle control valves sticking.

Have a look at this from the US RAV4 World site as the RAV with the same engine is popular over there;

http://rav4world.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=11555

Thanks very much for the quick reply, Ill give it a go as soon as i get a chance and let you know what happens.

congrats on a wise purchase!! Just back from a weeks 'holiday' in Tenerife where the rain was worse than a months rain in Scotland - warm mind. Let us know how you get on.

• 2 weeks later...