Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Starlet 1N Timing Belt Replacement

StarletOwner

Hi Guys,

Toyotat Starlet 1.4L Diesel 1N engine

Id like to attempt changing the timing belt myself, (I actually have the mechanics manual in PDF if anyone wants me to upload it somewhere)

I've read through the relevant timing belt replacement section and its saying I need at least 10 SST's (specialized Service tools)!? and I bet that would cost mega, like timing belt tension tester, one of those wrench's that tightens nuts to a specific tightness, cog removing SST's etc etc.

I called up a company that sells all those tools and the guy said i just needed a screw driver etc...

it also says I need to remove the glow plugs and most of the cogs...

has anyone had any experience with this, Im no mechanic but is it something I can attempt? isnt the most important thing to do is just to "align the line mark on the cam shaft timing pulley"

Thanks heaps in advance if you can help out, and let me know if anyone needs the manual

its well overdue, at I guess its done just over 200K, last change at 100k

Cheers

Stephen

Timing Belt replacement.zip

• Like 2

• 3 weeks later...

• 10 months later...

Hi StarletOwner,

Since you have the manual I believe you can do it. But you need to have the proper tools as mentioned in the manual. You may need a pulley holder to remove the crankshaft pulley, and of course the socket wrenches, torque wrench with the correct range to tighten back some bolts. Belt tension tester may not be needed if you cannot have it easily. You can do guesstimate by checking how much the current timing belt stretches when you press on it (or apply a constant force) and doing it the same way with the new belt.