Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Tyres Again ....

Chippy01

My Gen2 T-Spirit is due it's NCT (MOT) soon, and in checking things out I discovered that my tyres are getting close to the wear bars and may fail because of that.

Did some phoning around (as you do), looking for a decent tyre, not a cheap Chinese ditch-finder, and not to be fleeced either.

My options appear to be either :-

GOODYEAR EXCELLENCE

or

DUNLOP SPORT 3000A

As both tyres are working out at the same price, I was wondering if anyone here has had experience of either type, and what their opinions are of them?

Also, if it was your choice, and you only had the above two to choose from, which would you pick?

Goodyear Excellence (I've had Sport 3000's before - but on a 5 series - and they didn't last very long, went with Michelins after that)

I am not an expert but my understanding is there is a trade off between softer compounds that grip more but wear comparatively quickly, and hard compounds that last longer but grip the road less. Isn't this why winter tyres need replacing more often than regular tyres if left on all year?

I am happy to be corrected :)

Steve

I have experience of neither tyre.

Looking on blackcircle.com, if you really are limiting yourself to those two, and assuming you are replacing with like for like within specification 195 55R16 V87 then on paper based on efficiency, and noise, I'd choose the Goodyear Excellence.

If it was for myself, I'd pay 20 quid more per tyre and get the Michelin Energy Saver+.

I mention 195s because I can recall some very sarcastic posts claiming that I was incapable of the searching the internet, if you are prepared to switch tyre sizes I think up to 205s and tell your insurance company then you can get cheaper tyres as they are a more popular size apparently.