Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Body Filler and B Pillar Wrap

daniel11

Hi all,

I have had my 58 plate Aygo platinum for about 10 months now and have decided it is time to do something with the interestingly located dent it came with on the B Pillar part of the drivers door. You can just see in the attached photo. A PDR guy quoted £100 to do it however being a student I don't really want to spend that much on it.

I have a theory that I can fill the dent and then wrap both B Pillars matte black like on the 2009- facelift models to avoid faffing with painting it and the dent should then become invisible. 

My question is:

a) Which filler to use? - ideally it needs to make the least mess possible and be fairly easy to remove should I want to remove the vinyl wrap in the future. Also, its a fairly big dent so the filler needs to be able to cope with a large hole. Would polyfilla work as it will be totally protected by the wrap?

b) Where to buy proper quality matt black vinyl wrap? There is a lot of wrap on eBay however I am unsure of the quality and don't know whether it would stand the test of time.

Thanks in advance,

Daniel

20161221_152255.jpg

Polyfilla isn't designed for car body repairs -it isn't flexible enough,will crack, and come away from the dent.

Need to use a proper automotive body filler such as Isopon P38 or similar - e.g.. http://www.halfords.com/motoring/paints-body-repair/fillers-preparation/davids-isopon-p38-easy-sand-250ml

Hi Daniel,

First of all, I'm not a "Body Shop" Guy but I have filled in a couple of dents in my time :wink: and as a starting bit of advice....Don't go near the polyfilla!!!  What you need is a tin of "Plastic Padding" or "Isopon" Car body filler.  If it has to be mixed with hardener you mix a "Golf ball of filler to a pea of hardener"....Thanks to Edd China on Wheeler Dealers for those measurements....You'll need something like this: