Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Aygo Insurance

paulie b

The only thing which truly surprised me after buying my Aygo was just how much the insurance quote I received was. AA well over £600 for a 12 plate fire! I managed to get the insurance for £360, which I feel is still high. I am a driver of almost 40 years experience and have never had a claim or endorsements.

I was wondering how much others here pay? Also who, in their experience, usually gives the best (cheapest) deals? I'll have to wait until November before I renew, but any info may help others to save money.

Mine went from £600 to £250 when I moved from Birmingham to Stourbridge. The car itself is driven by the (now) wife and was at her mom's house for a year before we bought a house.

The house we're in now is about a 5 minute drive from her mom's (not my choice!), and when I rang the insurance at the time (John Lewis) it went up by £10 a month. Compared this to the hateful 3008 that had it's insurance cut in half after moving I found it hard to believe.

Aviva, in her case, then offered her cover for £270 for the year. She doesn't drive it much, think it's down for 5,000 miles a year. Her renewal quote with Aviva was then £250. It's the first time I've ever known an insurer to give a cheaper premium in the second year!

This all depends on your area more than anything. However, I do recall my father's insurance seemed to go up and up the older he got. His last quote was about £700 on a Honda CR-V he had, when before he was only ever paying £200/£300 for insurance. He was 72 at the time. I only mention this as you have said how many years you've been driving.

Insurance companies have particular client groups (including age and occupations) and postcodes they target. If one is outside the target group(s), quotes are often loaded to discourage people from insuring with them.