Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Possible Exhaust Rust/Corrosion on MK1 Aygo

Asura

I've been experiencing a more noisy exhaust system, and decided to check the underneath. It's my first time doing this sort of thing, but I have to begin somewhere.

These are the crappy pictures I managed to take. But from the looks of it and doing a quick sound test, there's 2 areas of corrosion from what I can see, in which is on the backbox?

I guess, I'd have to get a replacement back box?

IMG_8950.HEIC IMG_8951.HEIC

First use a angle grinder to cut rhe bolt then refit a new nut & bolt this may just take up the slack without a new gasket.

it's not worth messing about, you will not get the clamp to tighten down, at a minimum you need a gasket

What you are looking at is basically where the middle pipe joints the rear silencer.  It is held together by an exhaust clamp with a single bolt that is visible in the picture.

The bolt (if I recall correctly) should be a 14mm.  However, do not expect you can loosen it by regular hand tools as the bolts is heavily seized up.  I mean, you can try but better get ready for plan B & C.

Plan B is use an Impact Wrench (which is what I've used when I replace the silencer on my cousin's 2007 C1).  Plan C is use and Angle Grinder / Reciprocating Saw or a hand saw and cut the Clamp.

(https://www.gsfcarparts.com/za042485)

Controversial to some of the suggestion above.  There are NO GASKET available.  In fact I would argue there was never intended to be one - as it is just 2 pipes where the middle pipe slotted into the silencer.  There are 2 bulges, one on each end.  The clamp simply crimp the 2 bulges together to create a seal.