Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Aygo Oil Consumption

nek09

Hello everyone!

I am new to Aygo, as i bought a second-hand one with 90.000km, 2008 model.

I noticed that after 4500km from the last oil change (Total 94.500km), my oil indicator was at the lower level. I used 10w40 oil, as in my country is the most common type used (Related to weather conditions). Has anyone came up with same oil consumption, or i have to check my aygo further? I didn't notice any leakage or white smoke from the exhaust. Now i tried with 15w40 but i am full worried about that.

Aygo engines are known to use some oil when they get a bit older but they are also known in that case to reach double km and more than that, as long as you keep filling them up in time.

Something with the pistons... A little too much , too early in your case and maybe the car you bought was driven a bit more rough, cold, than average.

Or maybe they didn't give it new oil when they should..

General idea since many years about oil consumption: as long as you don't consume 1 liter per 1000 km, it's ok.

I don't always agree with that rule but that's what many car brands advice.

Knowing there is less than three liters of oil in your Aygo engine, you see the importance of filling up in time.

• Like 4

I would say that using 10w40 is the reason why earlier your car has started to consume oil. Oil viscosity should remain exactly as what the car was out of the factory, perhaps in this Aygo was 5w30 A5 type . Check and replace oil with exact spec and don’t go for 15w40. 
Best to do an engine flush and new full synthetic oil. 

• Like 2