Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

??Hybrid Issues

Penfold72

Hi.  I'm new to this Hybrid era, and just bought a 2022 1.8 C-HR.

Its a lovely car, but since I've got it home, I've noticed when I start the car first thing in a morning, the Hybrid part is not useable in electric mode only. I get the message EV mode unavailable.

I've noticed that the Battery is powering the drive as well as the engine on the display on the dash, but it will not drive the car on Battery alone, until the car has done a couple of miles. This is even with 4-5 bars of Battery power available.  Once its run for the said couple of miles its fine for the rest of the day running in EV mode when it needs to.  Is this normal for these Hybrids or is there possibly an issue?  Not sure how long it was sat at the dealers, and I was wondering if its the 12V battery, or is it the need for the ICE to warm up first.

Happy for any advice on hybrid cars.

Many Thanks

Totally normal.

While it is possible to get the car to run EV-only when you first turn it on if the Battery has enough charge, it's tricky and requires very specific circumstances, like very low acceleration and no need for heating - e.g. If the HVAC is set to 20 degrees but it's over 20 degrees already the chances are good the engine will stay off, but if it's only 16 the engine will fire up to generate heat. For best chance you need to have switched the HVAC off before you started the car so it doesn't even try and ask for heat.