Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Engine Reliability

Roker

It would be reasonable to assume that a hybrid would out last a none Hybrid because it is not running half the time, or is this allowed for in the design and it's not as hardy

I think it's a bit more complicated than that. Consider how often the hybrid engine is stopping & starting (hence the unusual grade of oil).

I'm not an engineer/mechanic, so I don't have a qualified opinion, but it seems to me that a well engineered ICE could outlast a poorly built hybrid and vice versa.

• Like 1

Its not the engine that will kill your car if serviced to Toyota standards including HV Battery service but other factors like rust or traffic accident where its a write-off.

• Like 3

TBH the 'unusual' oil is mainly because of the tighter engine tolerances modern manufacturing methods have allowed them to build to; It's not a requirement for the stop-start, although it does reduce parasitic losses through friction/drag and the easier flow means it'll get to where it needs to go a bit faster.

At first glance it does seem intuitive that the hybrid drive train would be less reliable - There are more things to go wrong, and as mentioned the constant stop-starting of the engine seems like it would be detrimental to its long term reliability.

Despite this however, the Toyota hybrid drivetrain has consistently scored up the top-end of reliability surveys, and even routinely beats most EVs, despite EVs supposedly being the most reliable due to their lack of mechanicals.

In reality, because the engine is designed to stop and start all the time, it doesn't incur any additional wear from that, and because the electric and ICE are both supporting each other, neither gets stressed anywhere near as much as standalone EV and ICE drivetrains, which have to do all the work all the time.