Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Yaris - Braking power low message

Reilly

Hi

Newbie here. I bought a 70 reg Yaris Excel at the end of May and it’s been running fantastically. Until today. When I switched on the power I got a message on the instrument screen saying “Battery Power Low”. “Visit Your Dealer”.  The brake system warning light stays yellow and the electric power steering system warning light stays yellow.  Then another message that “Battery power is low”. 

on the MyToyota app, it says “your car has no active warning lights”.  “Everything is fine.  Clearly not as the car won’t start.

i did a search for this on the forum, but couldn’t find anything.  Any ideas what is wrong and what I should do?

I accidentally posted this in GR club forum rather than Yaris forum. Could a mod move this please?

Craig

Edited by Reilly
MSG posted in wrong forum.

Mk4 yaris ?

Yes Mk4 Yaris.

This is a classic sign the 12v Battery is low - When its voltage output drops below a certain threshold, all the car's computer systems go a bit wonky.

It might just need charging (Either take it on a long journey, or just leave it on in Ready mode for 30minutes+), but if it's the factory Mutley one it might need replacing.

• Like 2

Thanks for this. I’ll try leaving it on ready for 30 minutes + as you suggest tomorrow morning and if that doesn’t work I’ll call breakdown service. Do I have to be in car while it’s warming up or can I just lock it with it warming. I did say I was a newbie 😬

• Like 1

It won't let you lock it when you're outside the car, unless you force it to using the physical key.

Strictly speaking you should stay in it as it's technically illegal to leave a car active but unattended on a public road, but if it's on a driveway or something you're okay.

• Like 2