Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Aygo x shock absorber question

Silpure

Hi everyone, just had my Aygo x first service done, and the dealer has said the rear shock absorber is leaking and needs replacing, also the good news is it’s covered by the Toyota warranty, I have had a look myself, I can’t see any oil trail, there is dust stuck to the shock absorber, but I’m not a mechanic, plus the aygo x has only done 3400 miles, I have driven cars and work vans for 50-60k and never needed a shock absorber changing. 
is this sort of thing usual on the Aygo’s , thanks for any opinions/advice. 

• Sad 1

A little oil goes a long way when its just smeared and the dust sticks.

If its leaking then its not going to get any better so I would just count it as one of those random failures that can happen.

• Like 3

Sometimes it is possible to have faulty shocks or failures prematurely or as a result of overload, jumping over speed bumps, hitting deep pothole, kerb or something like that. Generally speaking Toyota shock absorbers are very good and can last ages if no any of the events have had happened. 
If they offer free under warranty replacement just take it. 

• Like 3

Could be a manufacturing fault, especially if they have offered to fit under warranty.

• Like 1

I’ll get the dealer to change the shock, to be honest it has disappointed me a bit, 3400 miles is insanely low for it to fail, and it made be think back to when I was looking at a VW Up, it’s a great town car and the UP owners forum loved them, but they also gave warnings that the UP was not VW quality, it was built down to a price, and if you wanted quality you needed to buy a Polo or higher model, I can’t help but wonder how much Toyota quality has been removed to make the Aygo X. 

• Like 1

it's a manufacturing defect, that also affects the Yaris "oil misting" there is a TSB

• Like 3

19 minutes ago, Silpure said: