Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

16" v 17" wheels

badlywornroy

Just taken delivery of a 2022 Corolla 1.8 Design ( 17" wheels) 

Now I admit to preferring the '  look ' of the 17" wheels but is that worth an inferior mpg and ride ? 

I have no previous experience of 17" wheels before this car. I am led to believe the larger the wheel the worse the ride ? I probably would have chosen an Icon Tech variant if I could have found the ' right' car. Icon Tech because it had Sat Nav (essential) Icon didn't and 16" wheels.

I have only had this car 4 days and at my age ( 77 ) it will probably be the last car I own ( being realistic here 🙄) and I need to get it right. I have 1 month or 1,000 miles to exchange this if I wish. That is what I would call  ' the nuclear option ' ! 🤯

I am not too impressed with the ride ( especially in the rear) in this ' Design ' spec but I have no experience of the ride in the cars with 16" wheels. ( Yes, I know,  my bad ) 

So, I would  welcome your experiences if you are able to sum up the likely differences in ride comfort and fuel economy between the 16 &  17" wheels on this Corolla

Thank you & I look  forward to reading your thoughts.

P:S Can  the 17" wheels be exchanged for  16" if necessary?

Roy

4 minutes ago, badlywornroy said:

Can  the 17" wheels be exchanged for  16" if necessary?

Possibly - but probably at your cost.

You would also need to inform your insurer, as this may be considered a modification as outside of the normal spec for your car.

• Like 3

From my experience with cars (not currently corolla) it's more about the tyre profile which gives comfort, a bigger sidewall is the main aspect of comfort. A few mpg less on bigger wheels is not a big difference. 

If someone knows the tyre profile of the 16" and we can compare to your 17". 

• Like 2