Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Toyota Auris 2018 - No Sat Nav

Bassmonster

Hello all, 

I'm new here. 🙂

I bought my car only yesterday. 

I had thought that the car would have had satnav installed on but it says no satnav available on this system. 

Does this mean that I have to buy a whole new satnav unit or can it be programmed in? 

If I have to buy a new unit, will it require anything additional like GPS unit or anything? Sorry, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this. 

Any advice would be much appreciated. 

Thank you. 

When I press the satnav button on my auris I get the same message. Was told it isn't as simple as just installing on my current unit and the cost to get in my car would be ridiculous. A stand alone satnav which will be much cheaper and can be updated more cheaply is the way to go.

• Like 1

In the Unix world, there is a design paradigm: “Do one thing, and do it well”. 

I recall a journey through an unfamiliar part of the country. I was using the built-in Toyota "Touch" satnav. Just as I reached a junction, the phone rang, and the map disappeared as the Touch display switched to phone mode. I ended up taking a 20-mile detour as a result of missing a critical navigation prompt. (It was a long call from a prodigal granddaughter.)

I have the same criticism of using a phone as a satnav. Plus I can't read the tiny screen.

Get yourself a stand-alone satnav, as suggested by Willss. 

• Like 2

2 minutes ago, chrisramsden said:

In the Unix world, there is a design paradigm: “Do one thing, and do it well”.