Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Yaris 2NR-FKE clunking sound at idle behind engine

FL-HS

Hello,

I went to see a 2017 1.5 petrol Yaris today with 93k miles on the clock and it had a metallic clunking rattling noise at idle right behind the engine (from what I could tell).

It didn’t sound normal to me but I’m not an expert in the slightest, so I started another Yaris that was on site, same engine but only 33k miles. No sound.

I am attaching the video I took from the noisy one here. I ended up not buying the car as I couldn’t know what is wrong.

The car has had all services at the recommended intervals and at the same Toyota branch, still under Relax warranty.

I asked the dealership if they would agree to me bringing the car back if I went and diagnosed the car at Toyota and they found something wrong with it.

They’ve said that it has been checked and that (other) mechanics are paid to find issues so they will most likely find something wrong.

I would appreciate if I could get an opinion on this. 
Thank you for taking the time to read through this.

Thank you!

Edited by FL-HS
Removed reference that wasn’t relevant

The comment about paid to find issues says it all....walk away, there will be others.

• Like 1

If the car is manual press and hold clutch pedal and make a note if the noise disappear or changes. 
Ot sounds a bit like clutch bearing to me or maybe a a water pump or alternator bearing or pulleys  

• Thanks 1

Find another trader or a private seller, and don't trust any assurance that the vehicle is under manufacturer warranty without getting it confirmed by a franchised dealer.

• Like 1

Thanks for all your replies.

Before leaving today I was considering whether I could get it if I can confirm it’s still under Toyota Relax, which would then cover any possible source of the sound.