Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Yaris Vs Corolla

Dummy

Hi, 

I want to buy a used car and I can't make a decision about which one is the most suitable for me. I have more than 10 years of experience driving but this is going be the first car I'll fully own. 

My main usage is around 300 km/week mostly in country roads with a speed limit of 80km/h.  I'm located in Norway, so I will use winter tires half of the year.

I reduced my options to these 3:

• 2016 1.5 Yaris, 29000 km, 152 k nok (15K) from a private owner (I would take the car for a revision before buying, that's 300€ more)
  • 2018 1.5 Yaris, 57400 Km, 175k nok (15K) from a used car dealership
  • 2019 2.0 Hybrid, 59300 Km, 249k nok (21.3K) from a Toyota dealership (certified plus)

I plan to use the car for, unless, 5 years without minor issues. I think any of these three could give me what I want. 

I did the budgets considering insurance, gas price, possible maintenance and buying price of the car. I calculated the total cost over 5 years and divided it by 60 to get an ownership monthly cost. The Yarises are going to need something 12-15% of my salary, while I will spend 16-20% on the the Corolla. 

After 5 years, the corolla will cost 100k nok (8.6k) more than the 2018 Yaris.

Aside from the information I provided here, is there anything that should be considered when looking at one vs. the other? Should I get the Yaris and put the money I save somewhere else or is better to get the fancier Corolla?

Thank you!

The 2.0 Corolla's boot is small, less than 30 litres bigger than the Yaris assuming it's same as UK size. Unless you require a corolla size car, my opinion is to get the gen4 Yaris from late 2020. Yes it cost more than what you planned, it's a much, much better car than the gen3 Yaris. 

• Like 2

16 minutes ago, Mojo1010 said: