Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Which side is the volume knob on the Infotainment

Nick72

In this Aus (I think but may be wrong) RHD RAV it's nearest the driver, which is great. But I've also seen RHD RAVs with it on the left. Which side did the UK end up with?

2023+ models with the new infotainment display.

20240717_231330.jpg

It would appear to be on the left-hand side:

image.thumb.png.163d20a4ffdd9e177d1389831cf15c34.png

as, indeed, it is on our cars currently IIRC.

I've seen 'complaints' that all the menu functions are also pinned to the left-hand side of the screen.

• Like 1

Yep left. Can't say I've ever used it - just relying on the steering wheel buttons. 
The toyota menus are left hand side too which is a bit silly, but as I use AA (which places apps on right side) I rarely interface with it. 

• Like 1

As a UK driver, I don't think I've ever seen a car stereo with volume on the right. It's always been on the left, which I assume is a throwback to the old generic analogue radios with two knobs; left for volume and right for tuning. Was a bit of a stretch if you owned a Mini ( a real mini, i mean).

• Like 1

14 minutes ago, Red_Corolla said:

As a UK driver, I don't think I've ever seen a car stereo with volume on the right.

Volume on the right since 2019. 

Screenshot 2022-05-26 at 08.43.25.png

• Like 2

19 minutes ago, Paul john said:

Honestly never encountered it. Then again, I usually find it on the steering wheel in recent years, so wouldn't get round to using it on hire cars etc. I only have the experience of what I've owned.

• Like 1

uk/eu spec is on the right, iirc The AU spec cars are the same as the JDM ones - stalks, right lights and left wipers

• Like 2

So are we saying left for the UK but right in Aus? Why do it differently on two RHD cars?

Tis an easy explanation for volume on the left. 
its for the passengers benefit.