Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Rev 2 Suspension Changes

Fitz

Ok, as a newbie I know the experts and peeps who have been here a while will roll their eyes an what is bound to be a repost. But I checked some previous posts and I went to check the pinned section but there is a path index error to get the archived info?????

Sooooooo,

I understand fully that R1's have 14" wheels. I also see that R2's got bigger 15" wheels that were also wider. These accomodated the bigger better brakes to reduce fade. They also get suspension improvements.

I just didn't find out what the improvements are. I mean, if I ended up with an R1 and fitted an aftermarket spring and shock kit, would that improve things to equal/better the R2 set up, or were the improvements more of a structural thing.

Whilst thinking about it, I read the R1's have a higher ride height, so can you simply bolt on the R2 kit and acheive a lower ride but retain the comfort that would be lost with uprated springs and shocks?

I have my Rover lowered with uprated goodies but the Croydon roads are not gatting any smoother and it's more of a pleasure to have a softer ride.

Again, sorry for any repost info but in my defence, I did do some searching before posting...I hate being a newbie :crybaby:

I have a Rev 1 fitted with Koni adjustables and Eibach -40 springs, and I can guarentee it handles better than a standard Rev 2 or 3,4 or 5!

You lose the supple ride, but gain so much more in handling.

Horses for courses and all that. :thumbsup:

... we were all newbie's once. Don't worry, it won't last long. :lol:

My MR2 is a rev 1 and i've fitted rev 3 springs to mine.

The ride height has dropped loads and the handling is better,

but in no way is the car any less comfortable

I think the rev 2 had bilstein shocks fitted as standard but i might be wrong.