Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Newbie Please Help?

blueorb

I am new to the world of toyota and I have my eye on a 93 mr2 Turbo gts.I want to know if these cars are as good as people say in terms of their reliablity. I have had an horrific experience with a renault!

The car I am looking at is reported to have done 41,000 miles. However, when the speedo was converted, did it loose the km it previously had on it?

The car has had a recent clutch fitted which leads me to suspect that it has done nearer 60-70000 true miles. The car is immaculate in a1 condition. The guy wants a little under £4000 for it. It does have Jap history, but it is unreadable. All history and mot's present since import in '99.

What do you guys think?

Will I live to regret it? I don't want another renault experience.

Cheers.

what can I say it's Jap not French. lol

Ofcourse they break down, but if looked after well, they can last for many years trouble free.

The turbo may be worn but thats unlikely and it's just normal wear and tear.

Your speedo will be half and half i'm afraid, just leave a note so you remeber the true millage.

Yeah these cars are very reliable, even the turbo's seem to last ages. My import didn't have any history with it at all, at least you have some. The clutch change would suggest it has probably covered more than 41k miles but wouldn't worry about that too much. £4000 seems to be about the average price for turbo's of that age. Sorry but Renault is french, we all know they are not in the same league as Japan when it comes to reliability.

if you are looking for a good import you should try these guys!!!

www.topspec-imports.com

they imported mine from Japan for me and i have had no probs what so ever and I travel 100 miles daily to Uni...

hi mate,

look at the car - drive the car, then go look/drive another - and compare.