Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

New Brake Discs?

msherry21

Hi all, Basically as the title really,

I have ordered new Pagid pads all round but was thinking of getting new discs as well. How do I know if I need new discs or not? Is there a check I can do? I'm not that technically minded, sorry.

thanks for any help,

Cheers,

Michael.

Hi all, Basically as the title really,

I have ordered new Pagid pads all round but was thinking of getting new discs as well. How do I know if I need new discs or not? Is there a can check I can do? I'm not that technically minded, sorry.

thanks for any help,

Cheers,

Michael.

A nice and simple check you can do is to run a finger from the middle of the disc outwards to the rim. If there is a noticeable 'lip' to the disc (which you will feel with your finger) then you could probably do with some new ones. :thumbsup:

Make sure you do this before driving anywhere as the discs get damn hot!after just a short trip!!! :eek:

Hope that helps

You can measure the thickness of the disc, also check for excessive wear / scoring.

As for how thick the disc should be, I guess that depends on the discs you have on there :yes:

BGB - Brake system

sorry, dan, could you be more specific with "lip"?

If I havn't driven the car for a few days and pull away, the brakes have seized on and when it releases and I look at the disc, there is an imprint of the pad on the disc. Don't know if that helps at all but its a nice little story.

Michael.