Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Vegetable-oil As A Diesel-fuel

SilvioTO

Hi, I have Toyota Hi-Lux 2400D 4x4 extra cab year 1994. Anyone experience with vegetable-oil as a diesel fuel? Blend of 50% diesel-oil and vegetable-oil (on this car)? Is my car ready for this bio-fuel?

Thanks.

Silvio.

i have expeirience of this. about 18months ago i bought a 1987 205D for £100 with 160k on the clock to use whilst i was looking for a decent car. you should only use old USED (deep fat fryer) veg oil that needs to be filtered through a cotton filter 2 or 3 times. The companys that supply catering establisments supply them with the oil sometimes to prolong the life of the oil. then when it has been filtered you should add 3parts white spirit to 100 parts oil (this is not essential but it helps) and use as you would normal diesel. i only tried this cos i am a chef at a large establishment and we had about 150litres of oil going through the place in a week.

I would not recommend it for you silvio as your vehicle is quite new and worth some money as i am not sure what the long term effects of this fuel are although it worked in my 205 for a few weeks (the exhaust smells a bit funny) then i got paranoid as it is also VERY illegal. although the old oil at work goes to a company that sends it to france where they have been running agricultural vehicles on this stuff for years!!

so in summary NO not recommended for your hilux but maybe in a cheaper older runabout but it depends on the laws that apply in italy for fuel like this. :thumbsup:

Thanks G6AArgh, I readed manual of my car and page "fuel advising" specify that used fuel must have a number of cetane not lower than 50 (50, 51, 52 and so on is ok). cole-seed oil is 54, therefore is perfect. The law in Italy allow blend of 5%.

Don't expect Toyota to be impressed when ya smoke ya engine...........