Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Whos Mr2 Smells Of Petrol When Driving Along?

un1eash

Hi there, i'm new to MR2's. Not long bought myself a mk1, when driving along you get the smell of petrol when the windows are down. Ive heard this is normal?

Cheers

naturally you smell the hot engine a bit more than a normal car.

but it dose sound like you have a leek.

Check it out before driving the fuel line and filter comes up under the air box and intake system!!!

I'm not losin fuel and theres nothing drippin from underneath, where exactly shud i look to see if its leakin?? I bought the car of my girlfriends mum and she says its always smelled like that and she's had the car 3 years.

Just had a good look over the car and theres nothing i can see that would say its a leak. Doesnt seem to be any petrol vapour build up anywhere and theres not the slightest smell of fuel from the engine bay. Could it be sumthing to do with the fuel tank vapour vent system?

I'm not losin fuel and theres nothing drippin from underneath, where exactly shud i look to see if its leakin?? I bought the car of my girlfriends mum and she says its always smelled like that and she's had the car 3 years.

How many other cars have you driven that stink of petrol when you have the window down? I'm willing to bet if you were driving a ford (whatever model) and you smelt petrol you'd think "Hmmm... smells like I have a petrol leak".

...just because you now have an MR2 doesn't mean it works in some alien way. :blink:

IF YOU SMELL PETROL, YOU HAVE A LEAK!

Been for a drive and the smell doesnt seem to be as bad today, the smell is comin from the passenger side but when the car is stopped and engine running i cant smell anything anywhere?