Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Political Correctness

scionic

I've noticed that Political Correctness seems to be a uniquely American phenomenon, or at least it hasn't caught on quite as feverishly outside the U.S.

I'm not a proponent of it necessarily, but as someone used to living in a country constantly aware of political correctness I can't help but notice some things that would raise eyebrows here.

One of the most common here is "Jap"

I thought it was funny that there was even a car show called "Jap fest" :lol:

See here, that is borderline offensive. It's not an insult, but it can sound rude depending on how you say it (kind of like "Yank")

At the very least, you'd have people thinking you're a racist old man or a WW2 veteran if you said "Jap" here.

Not chiming in to correct everyone, just making an observation. :ph34r:

I think the fact that "Jap" is perfectly acceptable there is funny, I have a feeling a lot of other ways of saying things and looking at things are too.

The political correctness thing is out of control here, but a bit of it is a good idea I think when you live in a country as racially and culturally diverse as the United States.

its kinda the same over here.

I have seem quite a lot of references in books by American authors, and on predominantly American forums to Pakis.

Which is a perfectly fair contradiction of Pakistan / Pakistanis.

However - in the UK - this is a disgusting racial slur - up there with the N word.

Its use in the UK is so horrible in fact, that I actually dislike using it here, in this context.

Its also used as a blanket derogatory term for anyone who looks vaguely sort of Indian / Asian :(

First time I read a thread with it in - I was shocked! And as I read more and more replies containing the word I realised that the people where simply contracting the name of the country, and not being racist.

its kinda the same over here.