Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Buying An Mr2

SyCelicaGT

Hi all,

This is my first time posting in the MR2 section being a Celica owner 'n all, so go easy on me!

I have a good friend of mine who is looking to go from the world of shoddy fiat puntos (actully, perhaps shoddy is a little harsh as I like the way it looks) into the high quality world of Toyota :D, and he is thinking mk2 MR2 (my personal fav shape MR2)

Which MR2 model (non turbo) would be the one to go for and which year? I know they changed the rear lights in the 2nd or 3rd revision which year is this? And is this the best model to go for? He has about 6K ish to spend I am sure he can pick up a mint example for that kind of cash. :help:

Also what should he and I be looking out for when we go to buy one? Are there any common faults?

Sorry if these questions have been asked before but I could not see the info in the Sticky's section.

Any comments welcome except Celica bashing!!! :angry:

Cheers,

Sy.

**edit

Hiya. Just out of interest, why is your friend particularly looking for an NA?

If he has £6k to spend, he could get a gorgeous tubby. :thumbsup:

If you look at the "revision" guide in the stickies. HERE ..

Defo go for rev2+ (esp coming from a punto) due to the suspension/brakes. The lights can be retro fitted.

Or just buy my Turbo :)

Cheers Bibbs,

I would have thought rev 5 would be best, no?

Which revision is the best one then, is there a clear winner? In other words if you had to pick one MR2 model (non turbo) which wasn't your own car which one would be the one to go for?

I think the one with the late spec, high spoiler & round rear lights is the best looking model. Which rev is this one? Also there are loads of abriviations after alot of MR2's like Tbar (obviously the glass roof one) GTS etc... which model is the daddy!? (non turbo)