Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Getting Into It?

Hou

Just wondering how hard it would be to change careers into IT? I am a part qualified accountant and really cannot carry on with it, I am starting to actually hate my career and get so bored

I have no experience or IT qualifications so would have to be a trainee role, do these exist or is it all uni stuff nowadays?

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Hou

• Fizz

• Norfolk n Chance

• Jamesb4uk

What do you want to do in IT, it's quite a big field, my advice would be to decide what you want to do and get quite good at it by doing it for yourself (if possible) then decide if you need further qualifications. Most of what I see goes on talent rather than qualifications. I've got a lad working for me right now who has got 2 Masters Degrees, and he's nearly useless - he completely lacks real world experience and common sense.

So what is it in IT that you want to do?

Depends on what you want to do... you should be able to get into a IT helpdesk role without any prior experience or qualification.

You can just adjust your CV accoridngly to enhance any relation to IT with reagards to interestests etc with home builds and the like.

Then once you are in with a company you can then demonstrate the PC engineer within you and move up.. ;)

Do they have any helpdesk type positions at your current company you could transfer to?

In my opinion degrees can count for not a lot (except a foot in the door at big firms) in IT - experience/common sense is key.