Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Mr2 Advice Needed Please

chris100

Hi All

This is my first time on the site, I hope I have posted this in the right forum!

My mr2 Mk1 has a problem, at the weekend in overheated, boiling water was getting into the collant overflow bottle, the temperture guage was off the scale. I checked and no water was getting to the radiator, I turned the heater on and it was cold.

Then the temperture dropped and the heaters started to work, so water was flowing again. I am no mechanic but I have a few ideas, 1. thermostat on its way out, valve or air block, or Head GAsket Failure can any one else think of what could be happening or rule out any of my theories?

Cheers

Chris

just to add...

it continued to over heat on and off, i had to keep stopping to let it cool down and other times it just stated working.

True! hope not, if the head gasket has gone or damaged would there be a drop in performance? also I drove it for twenty miles the next day to get it home and the temperture didn't move above normal, would this indicate the head gasket is ok?

I think it's probably a good sign that h/g is OK.

Sounds like you might have had an air lock that disappeared once you switched on the heater.

If the car seems to be well now, with no loss of performance and no over-heating, then I think you've got away without any serious damage.

Good luck.

Tony

I wouldn't be so sure. I would still get it compression tested all the same. Check your levels, ie water/oil, make sure it's not using any then hope your HG is ok.

Sounds like an airlock to me in the coolant system, if it happens again i'd say bleed the system.

I will book it in for compession test, thanks for the replys. is it true the head gasket can go with no sign of white sludge in the oil?