Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Have I Screwed My Engine?

Rev2 Matt

Hi All. I'm new to this so please go easy on me for my stupid mistake. I have just picked up a clean Rev2 with full dealer history and leather. I have always wanted one and this one came up at the right price. When I bought it the dealer told me they had run out of fuel in it on the way back from the MOT. As I was going to do a 90 mile trip to get it back I thought it would be an idea to put some injector cleaner into it on the way back incase there was any muck sucked through when it ran out. I literally grabbed the stuff off the shelf, bought it, went outside and emptied about 100ml into the now full tank. I drove back fine and when I got home I went to the garage and filled up again to see how much it had used to gauge how economical it was. Unfortunately today I have noticed that the stuff I put in was designed as an addative for cars that ran on leaded fuel and it wasn't the injector cleaner as first thought. It seems to be fine and is running very smoothley but I'm worried about lasting damage if I continue to use it.

I know it was a completly stupid thing to do and I feel like a right knob now. I guess I was still on a buzz from getting it!

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Cheers, Matt

Welcome.

I'd be very surprised if you've done any harm at all. Probably didn't do any good, so was a waste of money, but I doubt any damage would ensue.

Lets have some pics of this new car.

Tony

no should be fine, shouldnt have any long term effects

dude its fine, the leaded additive just has a lubricant in the additive to ease the guide of the valves,

what you added would not harm what you have, honestly relax its cool.

i did the same.

its cool.