Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Teach Me About Uk Vehicles And Ownership

Dave*99

Hi folks, I'm new to the UK forums. I live in the US. I've owned Toyotas continuously since 1980 and have plenty of experience wrenching on them. My questions for you chaps pertain to understanding vehicle ownership and operation in the UK for commercial purposes. I have a business associate here in the USA that needs to operate some special equipment in the UK and France. He will need to purchase a vehicle, add some special equipment and drive it around in both the UK and France. I have never been to Europe and need to learn the vehicle types and licensing and registration details. A pickup is needed for the work, so a Double Cab HiLux is the vehicle of choice. I'm hoping to get some info on purchasing a vehicle, what is commonly available, registering and licensing, crossing borders etc. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Dave in the USA.

Welcome to TOC :thumbsup:

Probably the best place to find out about UK spec Toyotas is the Toyota GB website, see link -

http://www.toyota.co.uk/cgi-bin/toyota/bv/...jsp?id=homepage

As for driving in France etc, I guess you would only need the stickers to convert the headlamps

and make sure you have Euro wide insurance cover.

Your first decision will be if you should register the vehicle in the UK or in France and that will depend on a couple of things. First will you have a fixed address in both countries and second which country will the vehicle spend most time in?

If you are spending more time in the UK then right hand drive makes more sense, if in France then left hand drive.

If you are getting the vehicle certified in the UK you should have a look at the VOSA website http://www.vosa.gov.uk/vosacorp/index.htm