Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Mr2 Mk2 Alternator Problem - Help Please!

nicko_12345

Hi, i am a total newbie to MR2's and aquired mine when my dad passed away earlier this year, I got the car through its mot and now have the car on the road, until today

Basically after starting the car to move it out of the garage to get my other car out, the car died and when i say died not even the hazard lights would work, luckily as i was on a matter of meters from my drive i manage to push the car out of the road.

Ok, on to my problems, when i pushed the car onto the drive i noticed some smoke coming from the engine bay thinking the worst i open the cover in record time and noticed that the smoke was coming from the alternator, first thing i did then was to disconect the Battery and fetch the hose pipe!

Next i then took the Battery and put it on charge, it was totally flat, several hours later and a full charge i connected it back up, 30 seconds after conecting it up the alternator started smoking again, even before i tried to start the car, so i took the Battery off asap.

Now considering the car has done 300 faultless miles simce it went through the MOT and now this has happened 3 days before it is due to be driven to France by my brother where my dad wanted it to end up im pretty gutted

Anyone got any advise or help they can offer to me or at least help me learn more about the car, i.e specs etc etc?

All i no about the car is that it IS a import and is a 2.0 n/a and says G-limited on the rear (it also has a really nice tagra roof)

Thanks In advance

Nick....