Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Corrrrr There Ain't Half Some Cissys On The Road!

Funkadelic

Went out in the Golf this morning (sod going in the 2) at about 9:30.

Getting off my drive was quite tricky (it's a big gap but there are cars all over the place and I didn't fancy sliding into one of them) but aside from that, owing to the massive amounts of traction at the front wheels I made my way in to town unhindered (and doing about 20mph over ths speed limit)... Until I got stuck behind some numpty in another Golf crawling along at about 5mph even though the road we were on had been in heavy use since about 6AM and had only the vaguest hint of ice on it.

Of course, had I been driving the MR2 I probably would've been the same, but then I'm new to this RWD malarkey. ;)

I'm not saying everybody should do 20mph over the speed limit at all times, but some people really do cross the line and end up on the "pathetic" side of "nice and sensible."

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Fidgits

• Funkadelic

• Steve

• Yarisboy

Best to be careful.

Some people have never driven in these conditions before.

Lots of people get scared with a little ice and take it slow.

I drove to work today at a max of 23mph (on a road I usually do 60mph) and I didn't care, but the roads were slush/ice the whole way. I didn't hold up anyone.

Be patient.

That's understandable though.

The road I was on is completely thawed and completely dry. As I said cars have been driving up and down it all morning, and the sun is out - The only ice on the roads is right by the kerb!

Ive been driving on the motorway to work in the mornings at 6:00.

Ive been going slow in the 2 and there are Audi's etc in the fast lane who are still belting along as if it were a dry sunny day.